Speaking to Please God: 1 Thes 2:4b

1 Thessalonians 2

Key Text: 1 Thes 2:4b – “…we speak, not to please mortals, but to please God who tests our hearts.”

  • This is simple and to the point – our speech is not to please people.
  • For preachers this is important
  • I always seek out some feedback after my sermons
  • Mainly I’m looking for people to tell me that it was good, that they liked it, but the real question is whether God was pleased with what I said today?
  • Then there’s the difficulty of discerning whether God is please, or what God wants.
  • Sometimes a sermon that everyone “likes” is not what God wants, but sometimes people like it and God likes it. Its hard to know.
  • Today I felt like God was happy with what I said.
  • Last week, though, I wasn’t so sure. I wasn’t happy with my sermon, and there were a couple of people who didn’t like it and let me know. But, I got some of the mst positive feedback of the year last week too. Was God pleased?
  • Perhaps its mainly important to be asking the question – is God pleased with what I say?
Leave a Reply

