10 Random Leadership Challenges

Important: I love the congregation where I am a minister. It’s awesome. The people are amazing. I have no desire to go anywhere else. I believe that God has called me to be where I am and I love serving with the people there. AND there are some amazing leaders at Trinity and there are some new leaders emerging.

But this post is about challenges in leadership and yes, there are challenges…

I’m going to a conference in a few weeks and one of the presenters, Dale Woods, contacted the group who is attending and asked if we had particular concerns or questions around leadership.

Here’s the list of 10 random thoughts that came to me in the moment that I sent to Dale…

  1. Not enough people willing to lead.
  2. It seems like more time has to be invested in leaders than in “followers”. But I don’t seem to have the time to do that. It is also easy to get “burnt” by investing in leaders and then have them give up, or they just fizzle out themselves.
  3. When people are willing to lead, they don’t seem to have the time to invest in what they are leading (to do an exceptional job) let alone invest in developing themselves as leaders – how do we train/mentor people with such busy lives?
  4. There seem to be very few people who will strive for excellence – a lot of people will settle for what is easier, or what they know how to do, instead of being creative, or seeking help from others.
  5. Communication is a huge issue – how to get leaders to communicate (primarily with each other)
  6. A lot of leaders seem to like being in control and have real trouble letting go, and trusting. How can I overcome that, and almost as important, how do I help others (a) recognize that in themselves (b) do something about it
  7. How do we train/develop leaders in small church/new church settings without using workshops? What are other models for leadership development? Is there a more natural way?
  8. How do we balance/engage “what the church needs” / “what the neighbourhood needs” / “what everyone wants” / “what gifts are present” / “who is willing to do the work” ?
  9. NCD can feel pretty lonely when it comes to leadership. It often seems that things only happen if I (as the minister) make them happen, even if someone else is in charge of a particular project or area. It requires a ton of energy, and it is so tempting to just be in charge of everything because it’s easier than “working with people.” – I sometimes give in to the temptation. (see control-freak #6 above)
  10. Dealing with anxiety, feelings of inadequacy, despair, lack of faith.
Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “10 Random Leadership Challenges

  1. Evangeline says:

    Matt – My comment is just to share this interesting website I found which I thought might interest you!

    http://deidox.com/

    It’s all American info as far as I can see, but interesting anyway.
    Evangeline

    • mbrough says:

      An excellent site – thanks. Yes – all American content, some of it could cross borders, but it’d be great to have something like this that focused on Canadian cities.

Leave a Reply

