Worship at Alt7

There’s something about having communion every time you worship that is simply wonderful. In each worship at Alt7 we have had communion. To be totally honest, at each worship service I have held back tears because of the communication of God’s grace. Alt7 has been such a blessing for me. To be surrounded by people I do not know, but people so welcoming, people my own age, people in my own tradition (even though another country and another denomination), people struggling with similar things, people hopeful for similar things, people joyful about God’s amazing power in Christ and by the Spirit – being surrounded by this community for these few days has been… well, powerful. I am so thankful for a God that can use twitter to let me know about conferences like this. I am so thankful to God for calling these amazing people into leadership in the Presbyterian Church (USA). I am so thankful to God that I got to learn and worship with this community this week.

The worship services weren’t flashy, they weren’t perfect. They were what I needed, and were certainly a highlight of the conference for me. They were honest, they were reformed, they were connected to who we are, not just as ministers, or as Presbyterians, or as 20 and 30 somethings, but simply as followers of God made known in Christ through the Holy Spirit working in and among us.

Thanks be to God.

Leave a Reply

